Sour Apple Greens Smoothie

20120118-100727.jpg

We love green smoothies here. It’s a great way to get over the slumps. It also is wonderful for adding more of those greens that you need to thrive. Thank you to all my healthy friends who turned us on to green smoothies!

Now that we are working hard to avoid our most blatant food allergies & sensitivities we’ve been tryin to repair our guys with probiotics, kombucha, kefir, sauerkraut, & kimchi. (I’ll have to come back & spell check those! Lol). Cabbage is in season and we’ve started making our own. Ita been a steep learning curve for me. So I went to the health food store & kept asking if they have pareve (dairy-free) kefir. It seems m Whole Foods is either always out of stock or not there. Plus I’m trying to wean if of the convenience of Whole Foods, so expensive and mine hardly stocks food thats local anymore. We finally found some at Fruitful Yield

When we go out with my husband, without fail he wants to eat at fast food. We’ve learned we can pick a couple of items where I can get the least processed & least allergen filled.

Unfortunately, we made the mistake of making juice boxes & juice a treat when we are out. We often buy a bottle of apple juice & it lasts for days in our fridge after the day out.

So I decided to make an apple smoothie. I’m not a fan of sour but I’ve noticed my son enjoys it. He was the kid who’d suck on the lemon you got in your water at restaurants. Ok, enough of my rambling.

This isn’t really a recipe because I literally just splash amounts into the margarita maker & follow it’s suggestions for frozen & liquid ratio and mix.

Sour apple green smoothie:

1 leftover apple juice box

Approximately/ Maybe a cup of So Delicious Coconut Kefir

4oz of Spinach & dark greens
(I also use dandelions because up by where my husband works they are smart and have restrictions on spraying lawns. So yay! I can eat Monsanto-free dandelions for free!)

4 tablespoons of Coconut Oil
(it’s a solid at room temperature so if u can warm it up in a littlw dish in your hands it’ll be a liquid in no time). Alternatively, u can warm the frozen spinach & Coconut oil in a little pan. Don’t cook out the good stuff though. Remove as soon as it turns bright green).

2tsps or to taste of Apple Cider Vinegar

Optional topping: rice whip & caramel

I don’t have a fancy juicer or blender but my margarita maker does great. Make sure you are using something that is made to smooth ice.

Place the frozen spinach & warmed oil into the bottom of the blender.

COVER & blend away.

I add a little of the liquid & wait til there r no visible green bits. My son gets creeped out if it’s leafy.

Add the liquids. Kefir, cider, apple juice.

Smooth.

DRINK!

I added more apple juice to a margarita glass then topped w the smoothie for my son (about half juice half smoothie). Use a reusable thick straw, stir.

As you can see, it also makes a great non-alcoholic beverage for your pregnant mommas.

20120118-100531.jpg

About anderzoid

Life is Bittersweet. God is love, the rest is minor. Ever evolving. Incorporating the ancient & alien into the home environment.
This entry was posted in Real food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

